OPSF Board of Directors

The Omaha Board of Education created the Omaha Public Schools Foundation in 1984 as a vehicle for enriching the educational experiences of Omaha Public Schools’ students.

The Foundation exists to raise funds for projects and programs which cannot be funded by tax dollars. The initial “start up” funding for the Foundation was a gift of $1,155.71 from the Omaha Public Schools Instruction Department.

The Omaha Public Schools Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors. The Board consists of community leaders dedicated to raising funds and dispensing them for educational projects and programs that are not included in the regular operations of the Omaha Public Schools. The Foundation’s funds have and will be used to encourage the development of new and innovative projects, scholarships for students, teacher recognition awards, Kids Club, and extended day care programs for students.

In addition to funding learning opportunities that exceed the financial capability of the general budget, the Omaha Public Schools Foundation encourages broad-based community support and active interested citizens. The teacher awards and classroom grant projects funded directly by the Foundation provide a catalyst for raising teacher morale by providing a resource for developing innovative instructional practices. Many of these projects have later become part of the school’s regular curriculum.

Through these projects, awards, and programs, the Omaha Public Schools Foundation seeks to sustain this community’s tradition of excellence in education.

Kari Potts

Vice President

General Manager North America

Global Agriculture


Board President

Renee Campbell

Senior Vice President

Investor Relations & Treasurer

Valmont Industries, Inc.


Vice President

Board Finance Chair

Clara Ohr

Senior Attorney Adviser

Loan Programs Office

U.S. Department of Energy


Board Secretary

Matthew Ray

Interim Superintendent

Omaha Public Schools


Board Treasurer

Keith Station

Deputy Chief of Staff

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

City of Omaha, Mayor’s Office


Board DEI Chair

Heidi Kaschke

Director, UNMC High School Alliance

University of Nebraska Medical Center


Board Governance Chair

Alexander Kinkead


Robert Max Opticians


Board Communications/Marketing Chair

Marcos Mora

Executive Director

Casa de la Cultura


Dr. Derrick A. Nero

Assistant Professor

College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences

University of Nebraska at Omaha

Tracy Casady

Omaha Public Schools

Board of Education, Subdistrict 9

Eric Hochstein


International Spices – Fremont, NE

Art Brown

Dean of Information Technology

Metropolitan Community College

Melissa Shapiro

Annual Meeting Director

Berkshire Hathaway

Kathy Poehling


Omaha Education Association

James W. Freeman

Retired Educator

Senior Director for Student Affairs at UNO
Senior Director of Inclusion at UNO
Retired Administrator for OPS

Craig R. Christiansen, PhD

Retired Educator/Lecturer

Jennifer Rodriguez

Site Coordinator
Heartland Workforce Solutions

Channing Bunch, MBA

UNMC Student Success
Director of Student LIfe Inclusion and Diversity Office (SLIDO)
University of Nebraska Medical Center



Avery Brown

Facilitating Attorney
Tenant Assistance Project

Share This